The Fall Creators Update 1709 was one of the most anticipated updates after Windows 10. It contains a lot of new features and improved ease of access. Various bugs were fixed along with improving the performance and reducing the vulnerabilities of the whole system.

Like all Windows updates, this update also had a lot of bugs. One of them being that users had to enter their login information twice before they were able to access their profile. This is a very bizarre bug but doesn’t accept the functionality of the operating in any way. Refer to the workarounds mentioned to fix it.

Solution 1: Unchecking “Use my sign-in info to …”

The easiest workaround for this problem was to disable the new setting “Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart”. This option is known to cause many other problems too in this update. We can try unchecking it to see if this solves the problem.

  1. Press Windows + S to launch the search bar. Type “account” in the dialogue box and open the first relevant result which comes forth.

  1. Once in account settings, navigate to “Sign-in options” using the left navigation pane.

  1. Once in sign-in options, navigate to the very bottom of the screen and look for the option of “Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart” present under the heading of “Privacy”. Uncheck that option.

  1. Reboot your computer properly and check if the problem at hand got solved.

Solution 2: Using “netplwiz.exe” (User Accounts)

You can also utilize the utility of “netplwiz”. It is a useful utility present in Windows operating system for a long time and helps in managing user accounts. We can try to disable a specific option in netplwiz and restart the PC.

Note: Some users reported that when they logged on again after disabling the option, they were seeing two of their profiles on the login page. In that case, enter your normal profile and enable the option once again. Hopefully, the problem will be solved there and then. If not, you can easily revert back to the older state.

  1. Press Windows + R to launch the Run application. Type “netplwiz” in the dialogue box and press Enter.

  1. Once the new window has launched, uncheck the option “Users must enter a username and password to use this computer”. Press Apply to save changes and exit. Restart your computer.

  1. If upon the restart, you have two profiles of the same name available, open the regular one and navigate back to the User Accounts window we just opened and check the option once again. Restart your computer.

The above steps are valid for a computer where the entry of the user is already present. If you don’t have an entry present, follow the following steps. Do note that in this case, the option “Users must enter a username and password to use this computer” is to remain CHECKED from the very beginning, or the following procedure will not be possible.

  1. Navigate to the “User accounts” window like in the steps above. Once the window is opened, click on the “Add” button present at the near bottom of the screen.

  1. Now windows will launch another pop-up asking you to enter your email address followed by the password to ensure that you can log in.

  1. Reboot your computer after saving changes and check if the problem at hand got fixed.

Note: If the above two methods didn’t work, uncheck the option, restart your computer and after logging in, check the option back. Reboot your computer once again and check if the problem got solved.